Seasons of Tomorrow by Cindy Woodsmall

Seasons of Tomorrow: Book Four in the Amish Vines and Orchards Series

From the back cover:

As love restores Rhoda, a sudden tragedy is the test of faith she never saw coming.
More settled in her heart than ever before, Rhoda Byler feels a newfound confidence living in the Old Order Amish settlement she helped establish in Orchard Bend, Maine. Time has helped to heal the wounds of Rhoda’s recent severed relationship, and she finds that even her unusual gift of profound intuition is less of a burden as she continues to seek God’s wisdom for her future. She is happy to be working alongside the King family and the love of her life as they tend and nurture the settlement’s orchard.
Yet when Leah King’s involvement with Englischer Landon Olson becomes known outside of the Maine community, her disregard of the Ordnung could threaten all the Orchard Bend Amish are building. In the midst of addressing the discord, a shocking tragedy challenges the young settlement like never before, threatening to uproot Rhoda’s peace and the future of everything she holds dear.
When several members of Orchard Bend Farms are displaced, the estranged King brother is called upon to return. Can those who founded the new Amish community in Maine unite Or will the lingering pain of past hurts and present struggles result in the end of their dreams?

My thoughts: 

This is  book 4 in a series, and honestly I wish that I would have read the first 3 books first. There is a synopsis of the story at the beginning of this book, but I don't feel that it was enough. While the story lines could be stand alone, I felt that if I would have read the first 3 books that I would have gotten a better understanding of what was going on and why the characters interacted the way that they did.

As far as this book is concerned, the story lines were interwoven with each other to the point that it became distracting. I have read Cindy Woodsmall's books before and have enjoyed them. However, I did not enjoy this book as much. I felt that there were too many little story lines going on at the same time and that it was very distracting. I had to re-read several chapters just to try to understand what was going on. I wish Ms. Woodsmall would have chosen maybe one or two of the story lines and expounded on those, instead of trying to have 5 or 6 story lines going on at the same time.

I say that to say this....I may have felt differently if I would have read the first 3 books in the series first. However, I did not realize that that was needed.

Disclaimer: I received this book free from WaterBrook Publishing as part of their "Blogging for Books" program. All opinions expressed are my own.


Popular posts from this blog

Bill's job saga the last 2 months

Green Giant Steamers (and a GIVEAWAY!)

I met Sluggy!